Perspective

Landscape

Landscape has never been my strong suit, and it is not my favorite photography subject. However, I want to improve my skills in this subject. This is one of many attempts at capturing the beauty that surrounds us. My challenge for this project was to include a common subject in every image.

Nearly every image shares a common subject: the white windmills. It was very difficult to get close to the windmills so I worked with what I had. I went to this particular location two different days, once in the afternoon, and once in the evening while the sun was setting. I shot from several different angles, foreground subject matter, apertures/depth, etc.

A Closer Look: Afternoon Shoot

For this image, I used a smaller aperture so that only the foreground was in focus. I also changed the perspective by getting lower to the ground. This and the following image were taken during my afternoon shoot, so that light was much harsher and brighter.

What I really liked about this image was the lines created by the field that help to draw your eye into the image (leading lines).

I took several images both days, but I liked more of the evening shoot photos.

A Closer Look: Evening Shoot

Although this photo does not include the common subject (windmills), it still has a very unique perspective. I especially like the way the water line, or circle, leads your eye into the sunset.

This image is also lacking windmills, but I really like the way the road leads your eye into the image, as well as the warmth of the colors.

For this shot I changed my position slightly to include a windmill in the image.

 

 

Leave a comment